10+1 MOVIES THAT COMBINE ROMANCE AND SCIENCE MAGNIFICENTLY

Written by Augustine 

Yes, I am a romantic and no, I’ve never been into STEM (*). Despite the fact that I never liked subjects such as maths or physics, after graduation I came to realize that these fields are so much more than what we are led to believe during school. And yes, I always admired people who were into numbers, people who could explain everything to me using facts like I’m a young child.

Not so long ago I also realized that most of my favorite movies are a constant mix of romance and sci-fi. And how could this genre ever exist one could ask? Well, if you believe in love (I hope you do) and are willing to learn more about the world around you, yes it can. And the result is breathtaking.

(*) STEM: acronym which stands for Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics

tumblr_nghki326ob1ttsugxo1_500

  1. Comet (2014) by Sam Esmail

THIS MOVIE. Oh my God, Dell. Oh my, Justin Long. For one, Comet is about my favorite physics topic: parallel universes. Secondly, it explores the relationship between two people, a love relationship which takes place in multiple universes. Thirdly, Dell is the embodiment of my ideal partner. There, I said it. I’m in love with a fictional hero (#fangirling).

643218_orig

2. Frequencies or The OXV: The Manual (2013) by Darren Paul Fisher

This is one of the most amazing movies I have ever watched in my entire life. It is one my favorites as well and let me tell you why: love, physics, maths, music and some deep philosophical debates are all intertwined and the result is simply mesmerizing. Definitely a movie I will watch over and over again.

image4

3. Donnie Darko (2001) by Richard Kelly

How could this gem be missing from this list? Mixing (pseudo?) physics and the theory of “tangent universes”, Donnie Darko tells the story of a teenage boy who is at the same time mentally ill and a genius. This movie does not only combine science but also romance and psychology and I even think that Donnie can be interpreted as another Hamlet (discussion for another time, pinky promise.)

large

4. Mr Nobody (2009) by Jaco Van Dormael

I’d been told innumerable times to watch this movie by a specific person and I constantly postponed it. (*) Until I watched it and I was awed by the maze of thought it demanded from its audience. This movie had everything– childhood memories, teenage romances, adult problems, mental illness. And the fact that it explained our existence through science and some kind of mystery is mind-blowing enough.

(*) Thank you for persuading me to watch it! 🙂

tumblr_nntxpnbZah1rsyukao1_1280

5. I, Origins (2014) by Mike Cahill

By the director of Another Earth, the independent sci-fi film which was distinguished in the Sundance Film Festival of 2011, I, Origins is another one of these tremendously qualitative movies that you will have a hard time forgetting. The eyes are the windows to the soul and perhaps to… incarnation? Romance is also fit in perfectly thus making the movie even more unique.

92df61bc0752958dcc0d2142a905e0e2

6. In your Eyes (2014) by Brin Hill

Forgive me for this deviation, since this movie is more about the metaphysical bond of two people who are connected to each other through their eyes, but I had to add it to my list. I really had since it somehow recalls the questions which are the backbone for I, Origins. Plus, it has the best erotic scene I have ever seen in a movie so far (no spoilers, simply watch it.)

Felicity_Jones_Eddie_Redmayne_Theory_of_Everything

7. The Theory of Everything (2014) by James Marsh

Stephen Hawking cannot be missing from this list and the 2014 biographical movie does justice to his relationship with his wife, Jane and his personal progress as a scientist. The physics of time and space are all fused and through the power of love, patience and resilience the movie is bound to trigger many feelings to its viewers.

3-Eternal-Sunshine-of-the-Spotless-Mind-quotes

8. Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind (2004) by Michel Gondry

The movie with the most tumblr hearts and facebook shares in this list is probably the one with Jim Carrey (ugh) and Kate Winslet (yay!). Memories are hard to find in the case of this couple and I cannot stop but wondering “Why wasn’t Clementine the central character in this story?”. Yes, I love Kate and yes, I don’t like so much Jim. Also, when breaking up not only one person is at fault. And in that case, the woman’s. Just saying.

anotherearth-still1

9. Another Earth (2011) by Mike Cahill

Another Cahill movie in this list, great! As mentioned above Another Earth is an indie sci-fi gem and I strongly recommend that you should watch it. What would happen if a planet just like ours could be seen from space? And how this would affect our inner world? The microcosm and macrocosm are brought together in this beautiful film about love, loss, secrets and anger towards ourselves.

Fountain2

10. The Fountain (2006) by Darren Aronofsky

Hugh Jackman and Rachel Weisz star in this breathtaking film by Darren Aronofsky (Requiem of a Dream, Black Swan). Ιt tells the story of a scientist who is trying to save his wife from a fatal illness. Great acting both by Jackman and Weisz as well.

inception-explained

11. Inception (2010) by Christopher Nolan

Dreams are made winding through her hair” as the SOAD song goes and yes, it pretty much sums up some basic themes of this movie. The science/technology of dreams and the heartbreaking story of a man who cannot let go of his wife can pretty much crash the most tough cookies. And plus, Leonardo DiCaprio, Joseph Gordon Levitt and Tom Hardy.. should I say more?

Is any movie missing from this list? Tell us your recommendations and like our facebook page as well: here !

Leave a Reply

